My Pet Bull Ion

2 04 2010

After hearing a clip of a Bullion remix of an Osborne track, I decided to investigate this heretofore unknown-to-me producer.  I discovered, with some amount of surprise at having been so in the dark, that way back in the distant year 2007 he had released a mixtape which fused samples from the Beach Boys’ “Pet Sounds” box set (from both finished tracks and bonus tracks of various takes and studio chatter) with beats from the late, legendary producer Jay Dilla.

This track uses elements from one of my faves off Pet Sounds, “That’s Not Me”.  I love the Beach Boys’ atmospheric “oooh” background vocals, and I love that Capitol Records reverb.

That’s Not Dee

But you know what, you might as well download the whole thing, which can’t be any more illegal than the music itself:

The whole ball of wax

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 04 2010
muzikigan

Whoa dude, I don’t know just about any of the names you dropped, except the beach boys. But I dig the track. It’s got a nice smooth rhythm to it, with the strong downbeat percussion. I’m guessing that’s an organ or a synth that grounds most of the song. Interesting.

4 04 2010
ianwesleydb

I’m glad you dig. For me it is extra-special, already being a fan of the Pet Sounds. I admit I’m not an authority on any of those names I dropped, especially Bullion. But I think I’d like to hunt down some of their/his stuff at some point.

2 05 2010
muzikigan

I’m on my second listen through this morning to the whole Bullion album. You Still Believe in Dee is great, and I also like Let’s Go Away For Awhile. I like the sample-heavy, chopped up nature that actually ends up smooth and flowing.

Leave a Reply

