Serena’s New “Face”

4 04 2010

Ooooh, this makes the music-lovin’ part of me really happy. Serena-Maneesh recently released their second album “S-M 2: Abyss in B Minor” and I’m quite excited to get my hands on a copy. Yet to my embarrassment and disappointment I was not aware of their show in Detroit, which was a mere 3 days ago!

C’est la vie. I will console myself with this brand new song and video, which, at the risk of sounding overly intellectual, rules. “I Just Want To See Your Face” combines tension and beauty in that special way, an aesthetic that really must be traced to My Bloody Valentine’s “Isn’t Anything” period. There’s a sort of chaos and a feeling that maybe these guys don’t know what they’re doing and it’s all going to fall apart, but no! it keeps going, all intense-like, surprising you with little twists that reveal to you Heaven. Like their forebears My Bloody Valentine, S-M knows how to pull back that curtain. Or rather, tear a hole through it.

Actions

Information

One response

13 04 2010
jilly jon bo bon

this was extremely abrasive and I was a little taken aback by the noise,
but I like this alot. If you have more of this Ian, I want I want.

Leave a Reply

